Aquaculture Certification (Part Two)

Table of Contents

As discussed in the first part of this article on aquaculture certification, all societies establish a set of rules and standards for the food industry and require compliance with these rules through the issuance of certificates. In addition, some international organizations and institutions operate globally and issue certificates to producers who meet their standards. In our previous article, we mentioned two certifications related to aquaculture and outlined their criteria and standards. We would like to continue by looking at some other international certifications. Stay with us.

GLOBAL G.A.P. Certification:

The GLOBAL G.A.P. certification is one of the international certifications related to the food industry, including the agricultural, aquaculture, and livestock sectors. GLOBAL G.A.P. stands for GLOBAL GOOD AGRICULTURAL PRACTICES. It was introduced years ago by the United Nations. The primary objective of GLOBAL G.A.P. is the health and safety of food. This standard covers all aspects of the production chain and is divided into four categories: food safety, environmental sustainability, workers’ rights, and animal welfare. A significant principle of this standard is product traceability, which certificate holders are required to adhere to.

The basis of GOOD AGRICULTURAL PRACTICES is a combination of systems such as integrated crop management and integrated pest management to produce agricultural products.

The standards of this certificate include:

Farm Management: Includes requirements for overall farm management, including soil, water, bee and pest, and weather monitoring.

Environmental Impact: Emphasizes conservation of natural resources and biodiversity.

Product Safety and Quality: Covers issues that ensure the safety and quality of agricultural products.

Employee Health, Safety, and Welfare:  Addresses issues related to the health and safety of workers involved in agricultural activities.

Integrated Pest Management: Reduces the use of chemicals and uses management practices to control pests.

Chemical Management: Careful use and minimization of chemicals

The use of GLOBAL G.A.P. standards provides several significant benefits. These include access to the global marketplace for smallholder farmers, consumer confidence in food quality and safety, rural development and worker welfare, improved efficiency through the use of new technologies, a healthier environment, and increased economic benefits.


HACCP is an acronym for Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point and is a set of rules developed by the Food and Agriculture Organization and the World Health Organization. This standard deals with the control and management of risks associated with food production in various industries, including aquaculture. The main objective of this standard is to improve the level of food hygiene. This system means risk analysis and control of critical points and requires identification, evaluation, and control of all food safety risks at all stages.

In this system, the points in the production chain where there is a possibility of endangering the health of the consumer are called critical points or crisis control points. The principles of the HACCP system are divided into seven categories, as follows:

1. Hazard analysis

2. Identification of critical control points

 Determine critical limits for each critical control point 3.

4. Identify measurement systems and show critical areas

5. Define corrective actions for necessary cases

6. Establish a data collection and documentation system 

7. Establish an approval and monitoring system

As mentioned above, the focus of HACCP is on food safety and risk prevention, and as a result, aquaculture producers who follow this standard can more effectively manage the risks associated with aquatic production and produce safer, higher-quality products.

IFOAM Organic Aquaculture Standard:

The IFOAM Organic Aquaculture Standard is an international standard for organic aquaculture. This standard was developed by IFOAM (International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements) and applies to the production of aquatic and other organic marine products. IFOAM helps farmers adopt environmentally, socially, and economically responsible farming systems. Organic farmers use sustainable practices to promote the long-term health of the land and produce food for consumers free of artificial fertilizers and pesticides.

The following is a description of the IFOAM Organic Aquaculture Standard:

1. Organic Principles:

-Encourage the use of natural and organic methods in aquaculture

-No use of synthetic chemicals and growth hormones in the production process

2. Ecosystem Management:

-Protect local ecosystems and ensure no negative impact on the environment

-Utilize marine resource management methods that emphasize sustainability

3. Organic Nutrition:

-Provide food from organic and sustainable sources

-Ensure optimization of nutrients for aquatic health

4. Not to use antibiotics and chemical drugs:

-Not to use antibiotics and chemical drugs except when necessary and with the approval of competent authorities

5. Respect workers’ rights:

-Respect the rights of workers in the organic aquaculture industry

-Provide healthy and safe working conditions

6. Monitoring and evaluation:

-Periodic monitoring and evaluation to ensure compliance with standards

-Follow up and modify until organic standards are met

Friend of the Sea (FOS):

Friend of the Sea (FOS) is another international certification in the field of aquaculture, founded in 2008 by Dr. Paolo Berry. This standard is currently a project of the World Sustainability Organization, which aims to promote environmental protection.

Friend of the Sea encourages producers, artisans, and distributors in the field of fishing and aquaculture to comply with environmental and social standards. The main standards of this certification are:

1. Protection of natural resources

– Restrictions on catching endangered and rare fish

– Ensuring no negative impact on fish populations and marine ecosystems

2. Environmental sustainability

-Use of technologies and management methods to reduce negative impacts on the environment

-Compliance with environmental standards related to fishing, maintenance, and aquaculture

3. Management of marine resources

-Ensure sustainable management of marine resources and avoid illegal hunting

-Encourage the development of sustainable marine aquaculture

 4. Workers’ rights

-Ensure that workers’ rights are respected in the fishing and aquaculture industries

-Ensure workers’ health and safety

5. Social management

-Protect the rights of individuals and local communities

-Create employment opportunities and economic development in local areas.

What other international certifications are you aware of that are important to aquaculture? Please let us know.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × five =

Atlas meigoo support