Aquaculture Certificates (Part One)

Table of Contents

The aquaculture industry is a major supplier of protein to people around the world and is one of the world’s most important food industries. Because of the importance of the food industry and its impact on people’s health, all societies maintain strict control over the food industry through laws and policies. These industries are overseen by various organizations. In addition to national organizations, several international organizations require food industries to comply with laws by issuing certificates and standards. One of the international organizations that certifies industries that meet the required quality is called ISO. You may be familiar with this name. You have seen it on the packaging of various products. Can you name some other international certifications that can be found on food products?

As you know, 55% of the shrimp consumed worldwide is farmed shrimp. In recent years, shrimp farming has become increasingly popular around the world. This is due to overfishing and the depletion of natural reserves. Unethical shrimp farming can cause irreparable damage to the environment. Meanwhile, the issue of product quality and health is important. Measures should be taken to ensure product quality and to achieve a sustainable industry. One of these measures is for international organizations to monitor the industry and issue certificates and standards. Certificates and standards go beyond the farming chain and include other links in the chain, such as hatcheries, feed production, processing, distribution, etc.

The general goal of the organizations that issue these certifications is to closely monitor the entire production process and ensure the quality, health, and sustainability of the products. By adding credibility and value to products, certifications have created a good incentive for producers to meet the required standards. On the other hand, consumers are assured of the quality, health, and sustainability of the product by purchasing products that have been internationally certified.

There are currently many certifications available for aquaculture products. Each of these certifications has different programs and standards. In general, aquaculture producers must first apply to the appropriate organization for certification. Then the inspection process is carried out and if all the required standards are met, a certificate is issued.

The most important and well-known aquaculture certifications are:





We will study the working principles and standards of these certifications to learn more about them. Stay with us.

ASC Certification

The Aquaculture Stewardship Council (ASC) is an independent, international certification organization. ASC provides certification to aquaculture producers to help create a sustainable industry. Certification guarantees that seafood products have been produced sustainably. This certification is currently available in 90 countries and helps consumers make informed choices. With a focus on environmental sustainability, community health, and worker rights, ASC standards cover all stages of production.

The seven principles of ASC certification for shrimp farming are as follows:

  Shrimp farming must comply with national and local laws. .1

2. Shrimp farms should be built in an environmentally appropriate location that protects local biodiversity and natural ecosystems.

3. The development and operation of the farm should be consistent with the needs of the communities in the area.

 4. The shrimp farm should be developed using responsible practices.

5. The health and welfare of the shrimp shall be managed responsibly.

6. Breeding source, breeding selection, and their impact shall be managed.

7. Resources shall be used in an environmentally efficient and responsible manner.

ASC certification also includes traceability features. When purchasing products with this certification, all information about the manufacturing process can be viewed to make responsible and sustainable choices.

BAP Certification

BAP stands for Best Aquaculture Practices. In 1997, the Global Seafood Alliance (GSA) was established to address issues related to aquaculture. In the following years, the organization created a program called BAP and developed standards to improve the aquaculture process. The overall goal of this organization is to create an industry that is at the highest level in animal welfare, food safety, environmental and social security.

BAP stands for Best Aquaculture Practices. In 1997, the Global Seafood Alliance (GSA) was formed to address issues related to aquaculture. In the years that followed, the organization created a program called BAP and developed standards to improve the process of aquaculture. The overall goal of this organization is to create an industry that operates at the highest level of animal welfare, food safety, environmental, and social security.

The BAP standards include: BAP standards include

– Social Responsibility: The social responsibility standard consists of fair labor practices, safety, health, and employee welfare.

– Environmental Responsibility: The Environmental Responsibility Standard includes environmental safety, pollution reduction, waste management, and wastewater management.

– Food Safety: This standard is based on the HACCP program and includes sanitation, quality, and product process control.

– Animal Health and Welfare: The Animal Health and Welfare Standard covers practices such as humane slaughter, care, and transportation of farmed species.

To achieve BAP certification, the production process must meet each of these standards. These certification standards cover the entire production chain and include traceability features.

So far, we have reviewed two of the most important aquaculture certifications. In future articles, we will introduce other certifications related to the field.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × 3 =

Atlas meigoo support